Mug Rugs, the Quickest Quilts

A friend at work was curious about the mug rug on my desk and I explained how it’s really just a mini placemat that fits a mug and muffin. It’s also a good place for a half-eaten apple when I need both hands to type. “Would you make one for me?” he asked. Well, I didn’t have to be asked twice. The only guideline was that the style should be “low key”.

At the time I had no mug rugs (MR) ready to go, not even a quilted orphan block. So I cut down my Mosaic Tile piece and quilted it. Funny how the two pictures show wonkiness in different places. Must be the camera angle 🙂

Front and back of the Mosaic Tile mug.

Front and back of the Mosaic Tile mug rug.

I was reluctant to deliver just one MR because I didn’t want my colleague to feel he had no choice but to accept it. I wanted to provide options. So I grabbed some fabric and sewed a bunch of half-square triangles. After trying a variety of layouts I decided on this:

Front and back of the Diamond mug rug.

Front and back of the Diamond mug rug.

My friend chose the Mosaic Tile design, figuring it wouldn’t show stains and dirt as much as the other. I guess this means I get to keep the Diamond MR, and so far I haven’t decided whether I’ll use it or just admire it. You see, I like the pattern so much I’m considering doing the same for a real quilt.

3 thoughts on “Mug Rugs, the Quickest Quilts

  1. Pingback: Can You Have Line of One? | Threads on Threads

Leave a Comment

