Last Bee Blocks of the Season

The cool thing about making blocks for quilting bees is that I get to try new patterns without having to commit to making a whole lot of them. This is different from my usual approach to quilting, which is to jump into a new project with both feet: buy and cut the fabric and start sewing — all before I have a clue as to whether I will enjoy the process. Bees have introduced me to some wonderful designs, many of which I will use again in the future. At the same time, the construction of some blocks has been so challenging I’m now keeping a mental “never again” list.

Two feathersM-R was queen bee in March and asked for Anna Maria Horner’s Feather Bed blocks. It’s been a long time since I worked with so many templates and I was a bit nervous not having any fudge room, but they seem to have turned out. Each feather is 18″ tall.

April chose the Simply Woven block designed by Jess Kelly, available from the Moda Bakeshop. You’d never know I made a huge cutting error from which I eventually recovered, but I do have a couple of new grey hairs thanks to these blocks.

Two Simply Woven blocks

Simply Woven blocks

At a sew-in in April I made a third pair of bee blocks and was so excited to have done them the very day I got the fabric that I gave them to the Queen Bee before snapping any photos.

Now it’s time to focus on a few of my works in progress, including a quilt from the blocks I received when I was Queen Bee. Hopefully I’ll have an update on that before the end of summer.

Leave a Comment

