These aren’t UFOs, they’re LFOs (long-forgotten objects)

I’ve been in a bit of a funk lately, avoiding my sewing room as if it needed cleaning. But having cleaned it almost 2 months ago, and barely stepping foot in it since, I know that’s not the reason. So what gives?  

The answer: there’s a box of works in progress that is burdening my conscience. For the most part these have almost no appeal, yet I feel obligated to finish at least some of them before moving on.

I counted 11 unfinished objects (UFOs), and that doesn’t include the rag-tag collection of matched and mis-matched blocks I’ve made over the years.  So I thought I’d describe a few of them at a time, starting with the oldest. Maybe this little review will help me figure out which, if any, are worth resuscitating.

This medallion centre is at least 27 years old. And given that I took my first quilting class 29 years ago, it’s probably the fourth quilt started, and the first one I didn’t finish. The centre is hand pieced through the outer black border.

Although I still have some coordinating fabric and Seminole patchwork strips I made for borders, I will never do much with this for a variety of reasons. First, my taste has evolved over the past 2 decades. On the design side of things, I now know the heavy paisley border is completely out of balance with the star; not to mention how close the flying geese border is to the medallion.

I still have a soft spot in my heart for this Boston Common quilt. This has been hanging around for a long time; at least 15 years.

This pattern is sort of boring to make, which is why I don’t anticipate pulling it out and finishing it any time soon. But I like the way the fabrics work. In person, there’s a bit more contrast between the border fabric and the beige fabric with the black and red bits. If you look closely you may be able to tell those are little chickens.

This quilt is the last of the UFOs that moved with me to Ottawa two years ago.  It’s a quick and easy pattern made popular (and possibly invented) by Mary Ellen Hopkins, and is my third Hidden Wells quilt. I love the colour combination of terracotta and charcoal in this one. As you may have guessed by the safety pins, it is partially quilted. Why haven’t I finished it? Probably because I have no plans for its future.  Size is approximately 24 x 30 inches.

Hidden Wells

Leave a Comment

