Quilting with pre-cuts

Although there are many, many quilts I want to make (and have the fabric for), I haven’t thought to make a list. So last weekend when it was time to start something new, I didn’t know where to start. And because I was desperate to start sewing or cutting right now!, I went to my stash and decided I really should start with some fabric that I don’t love.  Why? Two reasons. First, I felt a responsibility to not ignore the stuff that I’ve turned lukewarm on. And second, I don’t dare cut into fabric I love if I’m not quite sure what to do with it.

Enter Beach House by Blackbird Designs.

Beach House by Blackbird Designs

As it happens, I had two charm packs, a honey bun, and some yardage, and I looked around for something to do with them. Somehow I stumbled on Millie Kriel’s blog where she showed some of the beautiful Cake Mix quilts she’s made. Perfect! Since I’m starting with 5″ charm squares and a honey bun made of 1.5″ strips, I know my blocks will be smaller than Millie’s, and that’s okay. The point is to make an interesting/nice quilt using what I have on hand.

Here’s a picture of all the fabrics in the line. There were 40 different fabrics in each charm pack, and seemingly the same in the honey bun. (Couldn’t be bothered to count.)

Fabrics in the line

Since my two lengths of yardage are part of the Beach House line, they blended too well to be the corner pieces. In my stash I found the perfect shade of deep wine from a small collection of Moda Marbles fat quarters I’ve had since the early 1990s. The catch? There’s not enough in a FQ to make  a border, and the closest local quilt shop doesn’t have this colour. Oh well, I’ll deal with that when the time comes.  
Here’s a picture of the blocks in progress.

Cake Mix quilt in progress

For possibly the first time, I am letting the quilt come together in a scrappy, unplanned manner. Normally I would want each block to be beautiful in and of itself, but with 40 fabrics to work with I decided to let randomness prevail. The only thing I’ve done to control the look of the individual blocks is to not have 2 of the identical fabric in the same block. Two of the same colourway in different prints is okay, and two of the same print in different colourways is also alright.
I’ll post again when the blocks are all done.
Leave a Comment

